Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316505093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 21st, 2020

Staff pick from Heidi 


Disappearing Earth Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525436225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 7th, 2020

Staff pick from Heidi 


Staff Pick Badge
One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy Cover Image
By Carol Anderson, Dick Durbin (Foreword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781635571394
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 17th, 2019

Staff pick from Michael 


Staff Pick Badge
Never Caught: The Washingtons' Relentless Pursuit of Their Runaway Slave, Ona Judge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501126413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: 37 Ink - January 9th, 2018

Staff pick from Heidi and Michael 


Staff Pick Badge
The Water Dancer: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590597
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - September 24th, 2019

Staff pick from Justice


Staff Pick Badge
Are Prisons Obsolete? (Open Media Series) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781583225813
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Seven Stories Press - August 5th, 2003

Staff Pick from Justice


Women Talking Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781635574340
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 3rd, 2020

Staff Pick from Michelle


Staff Pick Badge
Wendy, Master of Art Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770463998
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - June 16th, 2020

Staff Pick from Heidi and Michael 


Staff Pick Badge
That Time of Year Cover Image
By Marie Ndiaye, Jordan Stump (Translator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781931883917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Lines Press - September 8th, 2020

Staff Pick from Michael 


Staff Pick Badge
Blessing the Boats: New and Selected Poems 1988-2000 (American Poets Continuum #59) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781880238882
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: BOA Editions - April 1st, 2000

Staff Pick from Heidi 


Staff Pick Badge
The Carrying: Poems Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781571315120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - August 14th, 2018

Staff pick from Heidi 


Staff Pick Badge
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781631494536
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - May 1st, 2018

Staff pick from Heidi and Michael 


Staff Pick Badge
The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525536291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

Engrossing, addictive and intelligent. One of the best comtemporary novels I read in years. -Heidi


The Man in the High Castle Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780547572482
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - January 24th, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
Sisters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593188958
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 25th, 2020

isters is a twisting, compelling read from start to finish. Johnson provides a masterful look into the relationship of sisters June and September, born 10 months apart. Exiled to their aunt's beat-up old summer house, the girls explore every crumbling inch and wander the beach as the events of the previous months unfold. The house creates a haunting, intimate sense of place, and as their single mother sleeps through the days, the reader is left alone with the two girls. Johnson's language is evocative and hypnotic, a reminder of why she was short-listed for the Man Booker for her previous novel, Everything Under. Fans of Shirley Jackson and Barbara Comyns will recognize this skillful kind of creepy. Anyone wanting to get lost in a perfect eerie read will appreciate it just as much. -Heidi and Michael 


Such a Fun Age Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525541905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 31st, 2019

Engaging, smart, easy to get lost in. I listened to it on Libro.fm and it was exactly what I needed. -Heidi


Staff Pick Badge
The Bridegroom Was a Dog (New Directions Pearls) Cover Image
By Yoko Tawada, Margaret Mitsutani (Translated by)
$10.95
ISBN: 9780811220378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - November 27th, 2012

A short, strange, delightful book with a fairy tale like quality. -Heidi 


The Hole Cover Image
By Hiroko Oyamada, David Boyd (Translated by)
$12.95
ISBN: 9780811228879
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: New Directions - October 6th, 2020