Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Revolution of the Moon Cover Image
By Andrea Camilleri, Stephen Sartarelli (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781609453916
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - April 18th, 2017

Recommended by: Heidi 

A work of 17th century historical fiction (that's based on a true story), it's got everything: a corrupt upper class, a misbehaving bishop, a badass Lady Viceroy implementing reform, and whole bunch of crazy capers.


War in Val d'Orcia: An Italian War Diary, 1943-1944 Cover Image
By Iris Origo, Virginia Nicholson (Introduction by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781681372662
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - August 7th, 2018

NYRB Classics has recently brought the two volumes of Iris Origo’s Italian War Diary (A Chill in the Air:  An Italian War Diary 1939-1940 and War in Val D'Orcia: An Italian War Diary 1943-1944) back into print. An Englishwoman living in Italy under fascism, Origo writes about the run up to World War II and life during wartime (under both fascist and Nazi rule) with immediacy, directness, and humor that bring her experience to life. She writes of sheltering POWs and refugees as if not doing so could never be an option. Well worth reading, in these times especially.


One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy Cover Image
By Carol Anderson, Dick Durbin (Foreword by), Dick Durbin (Introduction by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635571370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 11th, 2018

The author of the excellent White Rage is back with a timely, important book about voter suppression. From Voter ID laws to gerrymandering to voter roll purges, Anderson shows how, while poll taxes may be dead, there are always ways to stop the most vulnerable from making their voices at the polls. Ending on a much-needed note of hope, this book is a quick, essential read, and a reminder that voting is a right, not a privilege.


Averno: Poems Cover Image
$13.00
ISBN: 9780374530747
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 6th, 2007

Chosen by : Heidi

 

This one cracks my heart open every time. "October" is an all time favorite. 


Ghost Wall: A Novel Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9780374161927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 8th, 2019

Chosen by: Michael

 

Ghost Wall is a masterful take on history, masculinity, and violence. Moss effortlessly connects the dark side of humanity between the Iron Age, the late twentieth century, and where we find ourselves now. This novel is short but it will stay with you long after you finish.

 


Diving Into the Wreck: Poems 1971-1972 Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393346015
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2013

Chosen by: Summer

For the sad and angry and hopeful: I recommend Diving Into The Wreck by Adrienne Rich.  A beautiful and tough voice that was adept at weaving the private and personal with the social and political, Rich has the capacity to both nail you to your seat and inspire thoughtful action.


Black Wings Has My Angel Cover Image
By Elliott Chaze, Barry Gifford (Introduction by)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781590179161
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - January 19th, 2016

Chosen by : Heidi

 

If you want a riveting, exquisitely written crime novel, look no further. Memorable characters, unbearable tension and plenty of twists and turns make this an addictive read. Not for the faint of heart, as there’s plenty of 1950s style violence against women.


Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316505116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 22nd, 2019

An engaging and wonderfully written memoir of poverty and single motherhood. I sat down to read a few pages and was glued to my chair for the next few hours. Perfect for fans of Educated and Evicted


The Last of Her Kind: A Novel Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780312425944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - December 12th, 2006

Chosen by: Summer

A gorgeously written novel about two young women and their diverging paths through the social and political upheaval of the 1960's. I couldn't put it down. It was a book that I holed up with, turning down weekend invitations just so I could be alone with it.  Nunez might have won the National Book Award for her 2018 novel, The Friend, but The Last of Her Kind remains her masterpiece. 


Duplex: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555976910
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 7th, 2014

Chosen by: Summer

If Virginia Woolf and Lewis Carroll had a lovechild, this is the book she would write. Taking place in a world that is both familiar and peculiar, Duplex is a story where a Wizard haunts the streets of childhood, robots fall from the sky, and young women grapple with the changing landscape of their lives. A literary hall of mirrors/coming of age story, Duplex is unlike anything you will ever read--and you won't be able to put it down. 


How to be both: A novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307275257
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - October 13th, 2015

Chosen by: michelle

While waiting for Ali Smith’s next installment in her Four Season Quartet, think of How to Be Both as an amuse-bouche. Inventive, witty and deeply felt. The ground this novel covers—from a quattrocento painter to a modern-day London teen mourning her 60s wild-child mother—will leave you wanting to shuffle the book’s sections and read it again for new possibilities.