Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Severance: A Novel Cover Image
By Ling Ma
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250214997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - May 7th, 2019

Chosen by: Michelle

This shape-shifter of a tale begins with an apocalyptic (and frighteningly plausible) fever and quickly morphs into a dark satire of latter-day capitalism crossed with a moving examination of loss. Severance twists the mundane world of office work and consumerism and wrings from it elegant and searing observations on identity, immigration, displacement and motherhood.


A View of the Harbour Cover Image
By Elizabeth Taylor, Roxana Robinson (Introduction by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781590178485
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: NYRB Classics - June 2nd, 2015

Chosen by: Heidi

My ultimate summer reading rec for 2019! Elizabeth Taylor is an incredible writer and this book is the perfect combination of gossipy and smart. Set in post-WWII England, she perfectly captures the feeling of a seaside town in decline and somehow makes it funny and charming. The pages are populated with a quirky and unique cast of characters that will stay with you long after you finish. 


Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101947869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

Chosen by: Heidi

This book is my ideal non-fiction read: one third true crime, one third fascinating history and one third literary biography. The result is completely addictive!


Diving Into the Wreck: Poems 1971-1972 Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393346015
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 2013

Chosen by: Summer

For the sad and angry and hopeful: I recommend Diving Into The Wreck by Adrienne Rich.  A beautiful and tough voice that was adept at weaving the private and personal with the social and political, Rich has the capacity to both nail you to your seat and inspire thoughtful action.


Staff Pick Badge
The Revolution of the Moon Cover Image
By Andrea Camilleri, Stephen Sartarelli (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781609453916
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - April 18th, 2017

Recommended by: Heidi 

A work of 17th century historical fiction (that's based on a true story), it's got everything: a corrupt upper class, a misbehaving bishop, a badass Lady Viceroy implementing reform, and whole bunch of crazy capers.


Black Wings Has My Angel Cover Image
By Elliott Chaze, Barry Gifford (Introduction by)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781590179161
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: NYRB Classics - January 19th, 2016

Chosen by : Heidi

 

If you want a riveting, exquisitely written crime novel, look no further. Memorable characters, unbearable tension and plenty of twists and turns make this an addictive read. Not for the faint of heart, as there’s plenty of 1950s style violence against women.


Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316505116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 22nd, 2019

An engaging and wonderfully written memoir of poverty and single motherhood. I sat down to read a few pages and was glued to my chair for the next few hours. Perfect for fans of Educated and Evicted


The Last of Her Kind: A Novel Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780312425944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - December 12th, 2006

Chosen by: Summer

A gorgeously written novel about two young women and their diverging paths through the social and political upheaval of the 1960's. I couldn't put it down. It was a book that I holed up with, turning down weekend invitations just so I could be alone with it.  Nunez might have won the National Book Award for her 2018 novel, The Friend, but The Last of Her Kind remains her masterpiece. 


Duplex: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555976910
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - October 7th, 2014

Chosen by: Summer

If Virginia Woolf and Lewis Carroll had a lovechild, this is the book she would write. Taking place in a world that is both familiar and peculiar, Duplex is a story where a Wizard haunts the streets of childhood, robots fall from the sky, and young women grapple with the changing landscape of their lives. A literary hall of mirrors/coming of age story, Duplex is unlike anything you will ever read--and you won't be able to put it down. 


Averno: Poems Cover Image
$13.00
ISBN: 9780374530747
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 6th, 2007

Chosen by : Heidi

 

This one cracks my heart open every time. "October" is an all time favorite. 


How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781612197494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Melville House - April 9th, 2019

Chosen by: Heidi

It's a catchy title but this book is less about how to do nothing and more about how to redirect your attention to the things you care about. Odell makes a compelling case to take control of the information we consume at a time when our attention is a valued resource. She argues that each individual little click--on a news story or a funny tweet--is an act devoid of context and what's losing out is everything else, including productive political action. The author is an artist, critic and amateur birder, and her lens makes for a delightful journey, through the Garden School of Epicurus in the fourth century BC, art movements from cubism to pop art, the Rose Garden in Oakland and so much more. As a call to reconnect with ourselves and those around us, it's one of those reads that feels both important and completely enjoyable. 


The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - February 5th, 2019

War in Val d'Orcia: An Italian War Diary, 1943-1944 Cover Image
By Iris Origo, Virginia Nicholson (Introduction by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781681372662
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - August 7th, 2018

NYRB Classics has recently brought the two volumes of Iris Origo’s Italian War Diary (A Chill in the Air:  An Italian War Diary 1939-1940 and War in Val D'Orcia: An Italian War Diary 1943-1944) back into print. An Englishwoman living in Italy under fascism, Origo writes about the run up to World War II and life during wartime (under both fascist and Nazi rule) with immediacy, directness, and humor that bring her experience to life. She writes of sheltering POWs and refugees as if not doing so could never be an option. Well worth reading, in these times especially.


Off Season Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770463318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - February 5th, 2019

A lovely graphic novel about the aftermath of large events--both personal and public. Sturm's writing calls to mind the sad and funny landscapes of Lorrie Moore, with the animal characters of Art Spiegelman. Even if you've never read a graphic novel, this book stands out as a gorgeous example of how comics continue to be a perfect mode for telling intimate and literary stories. 


Joe Brainard: I Remember Cover Image
By Joe Brainard (Artist), Ron Padgett (Editor)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781887123488
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Granary Books - February 2nd, 2001

Is this a poem? A memoir? A list? Yes! The artist Joe Brainard took the simple idea to list a series of memories and made it into an evocative experience of shared memory between the writer and the reader. A perfect book for that writer or artist in your life who has read it all or for that beginning writer who doesn't know where to start. 


Underland: A Deep Time Journey Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780393242140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 4th, 2019

Chosen by: Michael

 

British nature writer Robert Macfarlane’s new book is a fascinating look at the worlds beneath our feet. His subjects include cave networks and mining tunnels, deep vertical shafts in glaciers, a subterranean city beneath Paris, and the communication networks of trees below forests. His writing is rich and enveloping, and by the end of the book you will feel like you have adventured to the depths of the earth with him.


Now, Now, Louison Cover Image
By Jean Fremon, Cole Swensen (Translator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9780811228527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - March 26th, 2019

Chosen by: Michelle

 

Little known fact: the artist Louise Bourgeois created countless sculptures and drawings of spiders as a way to memorialize her beloved mother. If you've seen Bourgeois' spiders -- there's one at Dia:Beacon -- you'll know that the image conjures up a myriad of emotions and conditions. Likewise, this gossamer novel, Now, Now, Louison, is a portrait of the passions and preoccupations of the artist herself rather than a straight biographical account. A tale spun for the spider-maker


How to be both: A novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307275257
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - October 13th, 2015

Chosen by: michelle

While waiting for Ali Smith’s next installment in her Four Season Quartet, think of How to Be Both as an amuse-bouche. Inventive, witty and deeply felt. The ground this novel covers—from a quattrocento painter to a modern-day London teen mourning her 60s wild-child mother—will leave you wanting to shuffle the book’s sections and read it again for new possibilities.

 


One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy Cover Image
By Carol Anderson, Dick Durbin (Foreword by), Dick Durbin (Introduction by)
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635571370
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 11th, 2018

The author of the excellent White Rage is back with a timely, important book about voter suppression. From Voter ID laws to gerrymandering to voter roll purges, Anderson shows how, while poll taxes may be dead, there are always ways to stop the most vulnerable from making their voices at the polls. Ending on a much-needed note of hope, this book is a quick, essential read, and a reminder that voting is a right, not a privilege.


 

               Say it with Merch!                       CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE!