Maisie Reviews!

Hi! My name is Maisie! I'm 12 (almost 13) and am in 7th grade. I have a younger brother that's named Zade! I also have two bunnies and four chickens! I LOVE to read and I really enjoy reviewing new books from Split Rock! Also I like to play softball and basketball! I love to show others some of my favorite books and encourage them to read!

 

Staff Pick Badge
Shark Summer Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316461443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 25th, 2021

I really enjoyed this book! I would definitely give it 5 stars! I loved how it showed really interesting history. There's nothing that I really didn't like about this book. It was very well written and all the characters' feelings were shown nicely. One thing that was interesting was that one of the dad's was deaf. I think the author could have shown it better because I was wondering why they were signing to him but then I inferred that he was deaf.


Just Pretend Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316538855
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

 

I would give it 5 stars! I liked that the author was writing from her own experience and that a lot of the events were true! One thing that I liked and I didn't like was when the book showed parts of the book the main character was writing. I think that was a little hard to keep switching back and forth from reality and then her imagination. But overall I loved the book and how she showed her problems in a very interesting way.


Staff Pick Badge
Once Upon a Camel Cover Image
By Kathi Appelt, Eric Rohmann (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534406438
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - September 7th, 2021

This was really good! I would give it 5 stars! It was cool that the Author had two or three stories going on in the book at the same time! One of the stories was about the main camel's life and it was very interesting! This book is a very heartwarming story of a camel's adventures! The author definitely has a nice sense of humor when it comes to camel sounds and when you try to read a camel sound it's very funny looking! 


Staff Pick Badge
Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593126301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - June 29th, 2021

This was an amazing book! 5 stars! I like that the places the book was focused on were real! It was cool to see how the characters' moods changed throughout the book. I would like it if the author showed more of the main characters feelings. But overall I loved it as an adventure story! 


Staff Pick Badge
From the Desk of Zoe Washington Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062875860
Availability: Backordered
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 5th, 2021

This was definitely a 5 star book! Such a wonderfully written book! Lots of beautifully described emotion! This is a book for all the determined kids out there that need inspiration. And for kids that need to step out of their comfort zones! This is a book about a clever girl that wants to help someone in need! I absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone!


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Fallen Star (A Gifted Clans Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368059633
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - May 4th, 2021

This was such a good book I don't have anything bad to say about it. I would give it 10 stars! I was reading it before bed and I couldn't go to bed, I had to keep reading. It was just so suspenseful! The author wrote the story beautifully! There were so many surprises that kept the story moving along. I loved this book! I totally recommend it!


Staff Pick Badge
Borders Cover Image
By Thomas King, Natasha Donovan (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9780316593069
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 7th, 2021

This was a short quick read but very moving. I personally would give it a 4 out of 5! It is a book about finding out who you are and where you come from. This book has some very special characters. Each one with many feelings and emotions! One character named Mel was especially kind and caring to the main characters! Personally it wasn't my favorite book because it was a short story and I love long ones but overall it was a good book!


Staff Pick Badge
Frankie & Bug Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534482531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - October 12th, 2021

This was Fantastic! 5 out of 5! Written beautifully! I loved that this book showed people's real lives and how hard it is for some people to figure out who they truly are. This book showed that family isn't when you have the same blood, it's when you love someone. It's love that unites two together. This book broke your heart but then in a matter of seconds your heart becomes one again. Such a beautiful book. 

 


Staff Pick Badge
Lilla the Accidental Witch Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316538824
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 6th, 2021

This was a really good book! I would give it 4 stars. I liked that it showed a girl finding her purpose and who she was. One con was that the story used two issues. She was a witch and she was gay and I thought that was a lot to process. I did like that it turned out that the aunt was a witch too so she wasn't the only one. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534477568
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - March 30th, 2021

This was a REALLY good book! I would rate it a 10 out of 10! I already can't wait for the second book in this new series! This is a book of finding out who you are and what your future will be. This book also talks about how friends can come in all different shapes, sizes, and animals! This book is so GOOD!

 


Staff Pick Badge
Maizy Chen's Last Chance Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984830258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 1st, 2022

I would give this book 5 stars because at the end I was crying and not a lot of books have that effect on me. The Chinese history that Maizy's grandfather was telling us was so well put together. Speaking of her grandfather I want to let you know that this book had many connections to the game of poker. Her grandfather is teaching her how to play and she is using some of the plays in real life, which I thought was pretty interesting. I also liked how the book had short chapters, it helped the story move along. You know, I always wonder how an author chooses the name of a book. Sometimes I try to figure out why. This book had many connections to the title and I think the author chose the right one. But I won't tell you why it's a good title, you'll have to figure it out by reading it.


One Kid's Trash Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534457034
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 31st, 2021

This was very well put together! I personally loved it and would give it a 5 out of 5! This book was about a kid that brought the science of garbology to his school. For anyone who has moved homes when they didn't want to this book explains that feeling very well. Luckily for him he had his cousin to help him make friends at his new school. This has a very heart lifting ending when he, himself, fixes all his mistakes. He has some BIG ideas for the future! Get ready to read!


New from Here Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534488304
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2022