Heidi's Picks

Heidi is co-owner of the store. She's too tired to write a longer bio right now. 

The Door (NYRB Classics) By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translated by), Ali Smith (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translated by), Ali Smith (Introduction by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781590177716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - January 27th, 2015

Abigail By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translated by) Cover Image
By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translated by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681374031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - January 21st, 2020

My Annihilation By Fuminori Nakamura, Sam Bett (Translated by) Cover Image
By Fuminori Nakamura, Sam Bett (Translated by)
$25.95
ISBN: 9781641292726
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Soho Crime - January 11th, 2022

Disappearing Earth By Julia Phillips Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525436225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 7th, 2020

The Makioka Sisters (Vintage International) By Junichiro Tanizaki Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780679761648
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - September 26th, 1995

Staff Pick Badge
Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive By Stephanie Land, Barbara Ehrenreich (Foreword by) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316505093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Legacy Lit - January 21st, 2020

An engaging and wonderfully written memoir of poverty and single motherhood. I sat down to read a few pages and was glued to my chair for the next few hours. Perfect for fans of Educated and Evicted.


Staff Pick Badge
A View of the Harbour By Elizabeth Taylor, Roxana Robinson (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Elizabeth Taylor, Roxana Robinson (Introduction by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781590178485
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - June 2nd, 2015

Elizabeth Taylor is an incredible writer and this book is the perfect combination of gossipy and smart. Set in post-WWII England, she perfectly captures the feeling of a seaside town in decline and somehow makes it funny and charming. The pages are populated with a quirky and unique cast of characters that will stay with you long after you finish. 


Staff Pick Badge
How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy By Jenny Odell Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781612197494
Availability: Available to Order - shipping times vary
Published: Melville House - April 9th, 2019

It's a catchy title but this book is less about how to do nothing and more about how to redirect your attention to the things you care about. Odell is an artist, critic and amateur birder, and her lens makes for a delightful journey, through the Garden School of Epicurus in 4th century BC to David Hockney and much more. As a call to reconnect with ourselves and those around us, it's one of those rare reads that feels both important and completely enjoyable

-Heidi


Staff Pick Badge
Our Spoons Came from Woolworths By Barbara Comyns, Emily Gould (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Barbara Comyns, Emily Gould (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781590178966
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - November 10th, 2015

I love everything written by Barbara Comyns, and this is a good place to start.  

Her novels are characterized by beautiful, compelling prose and horror lurking 

just beneath the mundane. Our Spoons Came from Woolworths is a domestic tale

with a twist.  Like many of her protagonists, Sophia is resilient and unsentimental, 

telling her story with a cool detachment that makes the circumstances all the more 

unsettling. If you like Shirley Jackson, you must give Barbara Comyns a try!

-Heidi


Staff Pick Badge
Pretending Is Lying By Dominique Goblet, Sophie Yanow (Translated by) Cover Image
By Dominique Goblet, Sophie Yanow (Translated by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781681370477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New York Review Comics - February 7th, 2017

Renowned Belgian artist Dominique Goblet’s graphic novel, available in English for the first time, will hook you immediately with the gorgeous art and intensely personal story. Our favorite graphic memoir in recent memory.

-Heidi & Michael 


The Visiting Privilege: New and Collected Stories (Vintage Contemporaries) By Joy Williams Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101873717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - August 9th, 2016

Joy Williams is the best. These are the funniest short stories you’ll ever read, and they’re the darkest, and they’re the truest. After you read this, you’ll want to know where Joy Williams has been all your life.

-Heidi & Michael


Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee By Casey Cep Cover Image
$26.95
Difficult to find
ISBN: 9781101947869
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

Fair Play By Tove Jansson, Ali Smith (Introduction by), Thomas Teal (Translated by) Cover Image
By Tove Jansson, Ali Smith (Introduction by), Thomas Teal (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781590173787
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - March 15th, 2011

The Wedding Date By Jasmine Guillory Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780399587665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - January 30th, 2018

The Proposal By Jasmine Guillory Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399587689
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - October 30th, 2018

The Wedding Party By Jasmine Guillory Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781984802194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - July 16th, 2019

The Kiss Quotient By Helen Hoang Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451490803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 5th, 2018