Heidi's Picks

Heidi is co-owner of the store. She's too tired to write a longer bio right now. 

Abigail Cover Image
By Magda Szabo, Len Rix (Translated by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781681374031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - January 21st, 2020

Disappearing Earth Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525436225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 7th, 2020

The Makioka Sisters (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780679761648
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - September 26th, 1995

Staff Pick Badge
Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316505093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - January 21st, 2020

An engaging and wonderfully written memoir of poverty and single motherhood. I sat down to read a few pages and was glued to my chair for the next few hours. Perfect for fans of Educated and Evicted.


Staff Pick Badge
A View of the Harbour Cover Image
By Elizabeth Taylor, Roxana Robinson (Introduction by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781590178485
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - June 2nd, 2015

Elizabeth Taylor is an incredible writer and this book is the perfect combination of gossipy and smart. Set in post-WWII England, she perfectly captures the feeling of a seaside town in decline and somehow makes it funny and charming. The pages are populated with a quirky and unique cast of characters that will stay with you long after you finish. 


Staff Pick Badge
How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781612197494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Melville House - April 9th, 2019

It's a catchy title but this book is less about how to do nothing and more about how to redirect your attention to the things you care about. Odell is an artist, critic and amateur birder, and her lens makes for a delightful journey, through the Garden School of Epicurus in 4th century BC to David Hockney and much more. As a call to reconnect with ourselves and those around us, it's one of those rare reads that feels both important and completely enjoyable

-Heidi


Staff Pick Badge
Our Spoons Came from Woolworths Cover Image
By Barbara Comyns, Emily Gould (Introduction by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781590178966
Availability: Backordered
Published: NYRB Classics - November 10th, 2015

I love everything written by Barbara Comyns, and this is a good place to start.  

Her novels are characterized by beautiful, compelling prose and horror lurking 

just beneath the mundane. Our Spoons Came from Woolworths is a domestic tale

with a twist.  Like many of her protagonists, Sophia is resilient and unsentimental, 

telling her story with a cool detachment that makes the circumstances all the more 

unsettling. If you like Shirley Jackson, you must give Barbara Comyns a try!

-Heidi


Staff Pick Badge
Pretending Is Lying Cover Image
By Dominique Goblet, Sophie Yanow (Translated by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781681370477
Availability: Backordered
Published: New York Review Comics - February 7th, 2017

Renowned Belgian artist Dominique Goblet’s graphic novel, available in English for the first time, will hook you immediately with the gorgeous art and intensely personal story. Our favorite graphic memoir in recent memory.

-Heidi & Michael 


The Visiting Privilege: New and Collected Stories (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101873717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - August 9th, 2016

Joy Williams is the best. These are the funniest short stories you’ll ever read, and they’re the darkest, and they’re the truest. After you read this, you’ll want to know where Joy Williams has been all your life.

-Heidi & Michael


Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101947869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 7th, 2019

Fair Play Cover Image
By Tove Jansson, Ali Smith (Introduction by), Thomas Teal (Translated by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781590173787
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: NYRB Classics - March 15th, 2011